Business Publishing – References

State Office for Data Processing and Statistics


Statistics mainly fulfill the task to show situations and trends, from which conclusions can be drawn and projections provided. The “State Office for Data Processing and Statistics” (LDS) in the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia is one of 17 nation-wide statistic offices, which among other things is responsible for collecting and providing information and figures. Every year it evaluates the number of marriages, divorces, births or accidents, and records populations, election results or inflation rates. One of the best-known cross-section publications of the LDS is the Statistical Yearbook which describes the situation of the society and economy in North Rhine-Westphalia and at the same time provides structures and trends.


The huge amounts of data for this annual publication, which are aggregated from various sources, are initially processed by use of a mainframe before they are laid out within RagTime 5. Specifically this means turning this comprehensive material, which is linked with each other in many ways, in an easy and efficient way into a conveniently readable and intelligible form. On the one hand it is important to comply with the DIN 55.301 standard (“Presentation of statistical tables”), on the other hand it is expected that the statistics are presented in a graphically appealing form.

As a result, this process will yield meaningful figures in the form of graphs, tabular statistics and textual comments and analyses. This publication is not only available in a printed format but increasingly in electronic format at the LDS “Internet Shop” as a PDF document. The prospects – press, state governments, towns and municipalities but also institutions and enterprises from all economic sectors – are sent these files upon request via email or on a CD-ROM. Professionally prepared and intelligible as well as appealing statistics form an important basis for justifying decisions, explaining processes, planning the next steps or predict developments.

Hans Lohmann, who has worked for LDS since 1989, holds the position of a press officer and has been responsible for public relations since 1989. He has witnessed the technical development in the last few years and is one of the co-deciders when it comes to finding and deploying the best suited soft and hardware for Information and publishing.

What the program has to do


Layouting the Statistical Yearbook requires a software which ensures that the standard is met, allowing a little bit of flexibility in the layout. Here, common layout programs must rely on a comprehensive regulatory system that defines in which form the raw data must be structured and supplied. In the end, the supplier must follow these rules. These requirements are not needed for RagTime because it offers a lot of very versatile formatting options, including tablular composition.


Good reasons for RagTime


From the perspective of Hans Lohmann there are some important aspects that make RagTime superior to any other office or layout application:







Flexible output

State Office for Data Processing and Statistics in North-Rhine Westphalia prepares its data for color-separated printing and for the PDF documentation on the Internet or CD-ROM. The separation, including the color management controlled conversion of RGB data, can be done directly in the application. For the export PDF function RagTime tightly cooperates with Adobe Acrobat Distiller (version 4 or newer). Distillers settings and job options can be selected directly within RagTime. When required, RagTime starts Distiller and provides the document data. In doing so, optimized PDF files are created in just one step, for the Internet, digital printing or further prepress processing.

 

 

Contact

RagTime.de Development GmbH

Am Kahlen Berg 19
30826 Garbsen
Germany

 

Tel.: +49 5131 70 93 6-0

 

Contact us by e-mail

Support
Sales
General Inquiries

Sales News

Tips & Tricks

RagTime on Google+

Visit us on Google+ »


Legal Information  |  GTC  |  Sitemap
 

Simply productive

RagTime 6

 

Inventory and Foyer

Individual content, formats, fonts, and colors are listed well arranged in the Inventory. Frequently used documents and form can be accessed easily from within the Foyer.


New Features
Try before you buy
General Sales Information

Deutsch
English

Referenzen

Landesamt für Datenverarbeitung und Statistik


Statistiken erfüllen in erster Linie die Aufgabe, Zustände und Entwicklungen aufzuzeigen, aus denen sich Rückschlüsse ziehen und Prognosen ableiten lassen. Das Landesamt für Datenverarbeitung und Statistik (LDS) in Nordrhein-Westfalen ist eines von bundesweit 17 Statistikämtern, zu deren Hauptaufgabe das Zusammentragen und zur Verfügung stellen von Informationen und Zahlen zählt. Jedes Jahr wird die Anzahl der Eheschließungen, Scheidungen, Geburten oder Unfälle ausgewertet, die Einwohnerzahlen, Wahlergebnisse oder die Inflationsrate erfasst. Zu den bekanntesten Querschnittsveröffentlichungen des LDS zählt das statistische Jahrbuch, das die gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Situation Nordrhein-Westfalens beschreibt und zugleich Strukturen und Entwicklungstendenzen aufzeigt.


Die für diese jährlich erscheinende Veröffentlichung aus vielfältigsten Quellen zusammengetragenen großen Datenmengen werden zunächst mit Hilfe eines Großrechners verarbeitet, bevor sie mit RagTime 5 optisch aufbereitet werden. Konkret bedeutet dies, umfangreiches untereinander vielseitig verknüpftes Zahlenmaterial auf möglichst einfachem Wege in eine angenehm lesbare und schnell zu erfassende Form zu bringen. Auf der einen Seite gilt es dabei die DIN Norm 55.301 „Gestaltung statistischer Tabellen” zu befolgen und auf der anderen Seite werden grafisch „schöne” Darstellungen der Statistiken erwartet.

Am Ende dieser Aufbereitung stehen aussagekräftige Zahlenwerke in Form von Diagrammen, tabellarischen Statistiken sowie textlichen Kommentaren und Analysen. Diese Publikation kann nicht nur gedruckt, sondern zunehmend auch in elektronischer Form über den „Internet-Shop” des LDS als PDF-Dateien bezogen werden. Auf Anfrage bekommt der Interessent — Presse, Landesregierungen, Städte und Gemeinden, aber auch Institutionen und Unternehmen aus allen Wirtschaftszweigen — diese Dateien per E-Mail oder auf einer CD-ROM zugesendet. Professionell aufbereitete und gut leserliche, schöne Statistiken sind eine wichtige Basis, um Entscheidungen zu begründen, Vorgänge zu erläutern, die nächsten Schritte zu planen oder Entwicklungen voraus zu sagen.

Hans Lohmann ist seit 1978 beim LDS tätig und bekleidet seit 1989 das Amt des Pressesprechers und Dezernenten für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Er hat alle technischen Entwicklungen der letzten Jahre selbst miterlebt und ist einer der Mitentscheider, wenn es darum geht, die optimale Soft- und Hardware für den Bereich der Information und Veröffentlichung zu finden und einzusetzen.

Was das Programm leisten muss


Für den Satz des statistischen Jahrbuchs wird eine Software benötigt, die die Einhaltung der Norm verbunden mit einem gewissen Spielraum in der Gestaltung gewährleistet. Bei herkömmlichen Layoutprogrammen hilft an diesen Stellen nur ein umfangreiches Regelwerk, welches beschreibt, wie die Rohdaten aufgebaut und angeliefert werden müssen. Im Endeffekt hat sich der Anlieferer nach diesem Regelwerk zu richten. Bei RagTime entfallen diese Vorgaben, da das Programm vielfältigste Formatierungsmöglichkeiten auch im Tabellensatz bietet.

Argumente für RagTime


Aus der Sicht von Hans Lohmann gibt es einige wichtige Aspekte, die RagTime von den üblichen Office- oder Layout-Produkten abhebt:







Flexible Ausgabe

Das Landesamt für Datenverarbeitung und Statistik NRW bereitet seine Daten sowohl farbsepariert für den Druck als auch für die PDF-Dokumentation im Internet oder auf CD-ROM auf. Die Separation inklusive Farbmanagement-gesteuerter Umwandlung von RGB-Daten kann direkt aus dem Programm erfolgen. Für den Export in das PDF-Format arbeitet RagTime 5.5 eng mit dem Adobe Acrobat Distiller ab Version 4 zusammen. Die bereits definierten Konfigurationen des Distillers können direkt in RagTime angewählt werden. Das Programm startet den Distiller bei Bedarf selbständig und übergibt dann die Dokumentdaten. So werden in einem Arbeitsschritt optimale PDF-Dateien für das Internet, den Digitaldruck oder die weitere Verarbeitung in der Druckvorstufe erzeugt.

 

 

Kontakt

RagTime.de Development GmbH

Am Kahlen Berg 19
30826 Garbsen
Deutschland

 

Tel.: +49 (0)5131 70 93 6-0

 

E-Mail-Adressen

Support
Vertrieb
Allgemeine Anfragen

Aus dem Vertrieb

Tipps & Tricks

RagTime auf Google+

Besuchen Sie uns auf Google+ »


Impressum  |  AGB  |  Sitemap  |  Datenschutz
 

Produktiver arbeiten

RagTime 6

 

Inventar und Foyer

Alle Komponenten und Formate, Schriften, Farben sind übersichtlich geordnet im Inventar gespeichert. Häufig genutzte Dokumente und Formulare öffnen Sie ohne langes Suchen direkt über das Foyer.


Neue Funktionen
Probieren geht über Studieren
Allgemeines zum Verkauf

Deutsch
English